November 15, 2018

    Triathlon PEI Celebrates the Achievements of 2018    

Left to right, Dolphie Mazerolle- Official of the year, Phil Watts- Coach of the Year, Gaetan Dallaire- Ironman of the Year, Nancy Ripley- Ironwoman of the Year, Arend teRaa- Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, November 14th Triathlon PEI held its annual AGM  where  awards where handed out to its top athletes and administrators. The celebration saw more than fifty triathletes, from across the province gather in Charlottetown to celebrate the hard and accomplishments of the 2018 triathlon season.

President, David Boyce, thanked all the volunteers and sponsors for their continued support. “Sport PEI, Amalgamated Dairies, Subaru Charlottetown, Northumberland Ferries, Killam Properties, Sherwood Drug Mart, Bayer Health Care, and The Insurance Company of PEI, continue to be key strategic partners for our sport and we are extremely grateful for the wide-ranging support, both financial and non- financial.”

Ryan Innis from Sport PEI and Mike Eyolfson from Amalgamated Dairies presented the following ADL/Sport PEI Achievement Awards to:

Tri PEI ADL Youth Female Athlete of the Year         Lily Macleod                      Tri PEI ADL Junior Female Athlete of the Year        Tatianna Kelly               Tri PEI ADL Senior Female Athlete of the Year       Kristy Newson                 Tri PEI ADL Senior Male Athlete of the Year            Arend teRaa                   Tri PEI ADL Coach of the Year                                    Phil Watts                       Tri PEI   Volunteer of the Year                                    Sandra MacKinnon Perry   Tri PEI ADL Official of the Year                                 Dolphie Mazerolle Tri   PEI Ironman of the Year                                               Gaetan Dallaire
Tri PEI Ironwomen of the Year                                    Nancy Ripley                      Tri PEI Senior Male Duathlete                                     Dan McCarthy          TriPEI Senior Female Duathlete                                  Kim Landry               Warrior Award                                                                Kurt Laird             Triathlon PEI Builder Award                                        Pat and Gary Ellis

Race series awards were accorded to the top male and female in the various divisions with race series points awarded based on placing at events in all age divisions, provided there are a minimum number of participants.


Youth Female                                     Lily MacLeod                                                        Senior Female Supersprint            VanessaBrown                                          Senior Female Overall                      Kristy Newson                                        Senior Male overall                           Sebastian Valendia                                Senior Female Duathlon                  Cathy Montgomery                                Senior male supersprint                  Thane Arsenault                                      Senior male sprint                             Andrew MacDougald      

An Achievement Award was presented to Dan McCarthy and Thane Arsenault who completed all of the races in the Triathlon PEI race series.

President David Boyce, closed the celebration by stating, “PEI is full of incredibly talented and inspiring athletes from tip to tip. I am confident that as TriPEI continues to grow, we can build a triathlon community where every day Islanders, from beginner to elite, can inspire success together.  Congratulations and continue to… Run, Bike and Swim with heart!”